Keynote Speakers

Martha Lane Fox

Martha is the founder and executive chair of Doteveryone, a think tank fighting for a fairer internet. She co-founded Europe’s largest travel and leisure website,, with Brent Hoberman in 1998; they took it public in 2000 and sold it in 2005. In 2007 she founded her own charitable foundation Antigens and also serves as a Patron of AbilityNet, Reprieve, Camfed and Just for Kids Law.

Martha was appointed as a crossbench peer in the House of Lords in March 2013, and was appointed Chancellor of the Open University in March 2014. In 2015 Martha joined the board of the Creative Industries Federation, the Scale up institute and the Open Data Institute. In 2017 she became a member of the Joint Committee on National Security Strategy.

She is a non-executive director at the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction and in April 2016 was appointed as a non executive director of Twitter. She also co-founded and chairs LuckyVoice, revolutionising the karaoke industry.

Professor Jonathan Fox

School of International Service, American University

Jonathan is a Professor at the American University's School of International Service. He focuses on the relationship between citizen participation, transparency and accountability, from both scholarly and practitioner perspectives. He has carried out extensive research in rural Mexico, and with Latino immigrant organisations in the US. His projects involve dialogue with a wide range of public interest groups, grassroots organisations, development agencies, private foundations and government policymakers. He is currently launching a new "action-research incubator" at SIS: the Accountability Research Center.

To read more about Jonathan and his work please visit his blog.

All Speakers